Sixth NIFF 2023 Award Announcement

The sixth edition of the Nepal International Film Festival (NIFF) was concluded at the QFX Cinema on the seventh floor of the Civil Mall on Monday. In this closing ceremony, there were the presences of ministers, actors, actress, filmmakers, media personnels, and the general public. In the presence of the Honorable Minister of Culture, Tourism, and Civil Aviation Mr. Sudan Kirati, the festival announced its 17 awards lineups.

The film from Bangladesh ‘Memories of Gloomy Monsoons’, directed by Khandakar Sumon, and the film from Nepal ‘Aina Jhyalko Putli’ (Butterfly on The Windowpane), directed by Sujit Bidari, received the most prestigious Gautam Buddha Award and Best National Feature Films Award respectively. Not only that, Sujit Bidari, the director of ‘Butterfly on the Windowpane’, also got an award for Best Director and Best Screenplay.

At the closing ceremony, Pradeep Khadka was declared the Best Actor and Diya Maskey was declared the Best Actress for the Nepali film ‘Prakash’. Likewise, Rajesh Shrestha was awarded Best Cinematography in a feature film for ‘Prakash’. Moving forward, ‘Junko’ directed by Minsho Limbu was awarded with Best National Short Film, and ‘The Tiger’s Jaw’ directed by Kamal Kum was awarded by AK Sherpa Award, Best National Documentary Film.

There were 96 films from 35 countries selected from over 500 entries from 55 countries all over the world and among them 14 awards were distributed.

The lists of all fourteen categories’ winners are:

Best National Feature Film – Butterfly on the Windowpane

Best International Feature Film – A House with No Name: Patalghar (Bangladesh)

Best Actor – Pradeep Khadka (Prakash)

Best Actress – Diya Maskey (Prakash)

Best Cinematography – Rajesh Shrestha (Prakash)

Best Director – Sujit Bidari (Butterfly on the Windowpane)

Best Screenplay- Sujit Bidari (Butterfly on the Windowpane)

Best Director Short Film – Pradhuman Mishra (Dilemma)

Best National Short Film – Junko (Minsho Limbu)

Best International Short Film – The Book (Iran)

Best Animated Short Film – The Legend of Goldhorn (Slovenia)

Best National Documentary Film– The Tiger’s Jaw (Director – Kamal Kum)

Best International Documentary Film – Souls of the Forest (Indonesia)

Best International Feature Film – Memories of Gloomy Monsoon (Bangladesh)

Written By: Utsav Pun

Also Read:

Sixth Edition of ‘NIFF’ Opening Tomorrow at QFX Civil Mall Kathmandu

Nepal International Film Festival’s Sixth Edition Kicks Off

Demon Slayer: To The Swordsmith Village Fan Screening at One Cinema